European Technical Assessment

A European Technical Assessment (European Technical Assessment - ETA) is issued on the basis of a European Assessment Document (EAD) (see Article 26(1) Construction Products Regulation, CPR).

For the time being, Guidelines for European technical approval (ETAGs), published before 1 July 2013 in accordance with the Construction Products Directive may be used as European Assessment Documents (see Article 66(3) CPR) provided that they are up-to-date and fully cover the product concerned.
For this reason, the European Organisation for Technical Assessment (EOTA) has worked hard to update as many guidelines as possible. Unfortunately, not all ETAGs could be updated in time due to the multitude of areas covered by the guidelines and the technical complexity of the matters involved. Whether an existing ETAG may be used or not, therefore has to be decided on a case-by-case basis. If the guideline does not provide appropriate test methods, an EAD has to be developed on the basis of the guideline.


Other assessment methods and criteria, which were not laid down in Guidelines for European technical approval (ETAGs), but agreed upon on a case-by-case basis within the European Organisation for Technical Assessment (EOTA) may be used for developing new European Assessment Document (see Article 24(3) CPR).


European Assessment Documents are developed by the European Organisation for Technical Assessment (EOTA). DIBt is represented in all related working groups. The Technical Assessment Body which received the European Technical Assessment request steers the EAD development process.


EOTA's work on European Assessment Documents is divided according to product areas, which are identified by a product area code. The full EOTA number of a product area consists of the respective main group, the product group and the product area code assigned by EOTA.

Example: Product Area 01.02/03

Main Group 01 "Civil engineering"

Product Group 02 "Soil reinforcement, soil improvement"

Product Area 03 "Kit for soil nails"

Finalised European Assessment Documents (EADs) which have served as a basis for at least one European Technical Assessment (ETA) are published on the EOTA website. The references of the EADs are published in the Official Journal of the European Union as harmonised technical specifications.