The European Organisation for Technical Assessment (European Organisation for Technical Assessment – EOTA) was established as the European Organisation for Technical Approvals based on the Construction Products Directive (89/106/EEC). With the full entry into force of the Construction Products Regulation (Regulation (EU) No 305/2011) on 1 July 2013, the name and especially the tasks and structure of EOTA have changed.

From 1 July 2013, bodies need to be appointed as a Technical Assessment Body under the Construction Products Regulation by the respective Member State to be eligible for EOTA membership. The term "Member State" in the EOTA context refers not only to the EU Member States but also to the EFTA States, which are contracting parties to the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA), as well as Switzerland and Turkey, which had already been represented in EOTA on the basis of bilateral agreements with the EU. Only bodies appointed in accordance with the Construction Products Regulation are eligible for full membership. Bodies represented in EOTA as of 30 June 2013 have been conferred an observer status, which allows them to contribute to EOTA's work. As soon as a body has been officially appointed, it obtains full membership.

EOTA is a non-profit association based in Brussels 1040, Kunstlaan 40 Avenue des Arts, Belgium. Deutsches Institut für Bautechnik is the only Technical Assessment Body notified by Germany.

EOTA – Structure

The various fields of activity of EOTA are managed by the following committees:

  •  General Assembly,
  • Executive Board,
  • Technical Board.

Germany is represented on these committees by Deutsches Institut für Bautechnik.

All Technical Assessment Bodies are represented in the General Assembly of EOTA. It is in particular responsible for the adoption of the Statutes and Internal Regulations, the adoption of the annual budget and the appointment of the President, the Chairman of the Technical Board, the Treasurer, an independent auditor as well as the Secretary General of the organisation.

The Executive Board of EOTA is composed of the President, the Treasurer, the Chairman of the Technical Board and at least three other representatives of Technical Assessment Bodies. The Executive Board runs operations on a day-to-day basis. In particular, the Executive Board conducts all negotiations with the European Commission, entertains relations with other European organisations and prepares policy proposals for discussion in the General Assembly.

The Technical Board consists of one representative of each EOTA body. It is responsible to the Executive Board for the technical activities of EOTA and sets up the necessary working groups.

EOTA – Responsibilities

EOTA's main responsibilities include developing European Assessment Documents (European Assessment Documents, EADs) and coordinating the ETA issuing process.  
EOTA closely cooperates with the services of the European Commission, the European Free Trade Association EFTA, the European Committee for Standardization CEN as well as European trade delegations and industrial associations.