DIBt in Europe

European Union - Institutions

The EU (European Union) is a unique economic and political partnership between currently 28 European countries. The principle purposes are to increase the single European market, to reduce trade restrictions and to sustain the competetive position of European producers. One important idea is that countries who trade with one another become economically interdependent and so more likely to avoid conflict.

The three most important organs, that take part in the adoption of resolutions procedure of the EU and in the joint decision procedure, are the

  • European Parliament (represents the interests of the European citizens)
  • Council of the European Union (represents the interests of the Member States)
  • European Commission (represents and protects the interests of the EU altogether).

They prepare political programs and legislation (directives, regulations and decisions), which applies in the whole EU.
The institutional system of the EU is completed by two further, important organs:

Different institutions and other offices complete these bodies.
For the European Union the principle of the rule of law is essential, i.e. all decisions and all procedures of the EU are based on EC Treaties, which were agreed on by all EU countries. In the first years the cooperation was mainly limited to trade and economics.